Winning words from the University of Otago’s inaugural creative writing competition

Monday 18th November @ 6pm
Replayed 21st Nov @ 11am and 24th Nov @ 6pm

In 2019, the University of Otago held a creative writing competition as part of the University’s 150th celebrations.

With four categories – student poetry, student fiction, staff poetry and staff fiction – it was an opportunity for keen writers across all of the University’s campuses to have a go.

In keeping with the 150th anniversary celebrations, the writing prompt was “Daring to be Wise”.

In these podcasts, the competition winners present their work.

Complete Show
Anaru Eketone – Staff poetry joint winner
Amanda Kvalsvig – Staff poetry joint winner
Caroline Spooner-Kenyon – Student poetry winner
Mareike Barton – Staff prose winner
Benjamin Clow – Student prose winner

Anaru Eketone
Staff Poetry Joint Winner
Te Hunga ora/Those of us who remain

Caroline Spooner-Kenyon
Student Poetry Winner
Saturday’s Child Lyric